Cradle to Cradle Silver certification for WICONA solutions

Products are not only judged for their aesthetics or functionality, but also for their effect on the environment, on human health and for their re-usability in the circular economy.

Sustainability has always played a key role at WICONA. At the beginning of 2017, WICONA system solutions were awarded the Bronze Cradle to Cradle (C2C) Certificate. Since then, WICONA has continually worked to further improve the production standards to achieve the next level. That has now been achieved. WICONA window, door and façade solutions were awarded the Silver C2C Certificate.

The following WICONA systems are Cradle to Cradle certified:

Silver level:

  • Windows: WICLINE 65 evo, WICLINE 75 evo, WICLINE 75 evo ventilation flap, WICLINE 75 MAX, WICLINE 75 TOP,
  • Doors: WICSTYLE 65 evo, WICSTYLE 75 evo, WICSLIDE 75FD
  • Façades: WICTEC 50, WICTEC 50HI, WICTEC 60,

Bronze level:

  • Windows: WICLINE 70SG, WICLINE 90SG
  • Doors: WICSTYLE 77FP
  • Façades: WICTEC 50SG

from left to right: Katja Hansen (senior C2C advisor for EPEA GmbH) with Ralf Seufert (Managing Director Hydro Building Systems Germany GmbH) and Henri Gomez (Business Unit President Building Systems at Hydro).

This video has been disabled until you accept marketing cookies. Manage your preferences here or directly accept targeting cookies.

Click on the play button to watch the video.

The C2C certificate complements and also offers an alternative to the well-known building certificates (DGNB, LEED, BREEAM, etc.) Its criteria are directly related to the product, not to the entire building. The responsibility of the product manufacturer, including the entire prefabrication and supply chain, comes into focus.


In order to achieve one of the five levels of certification (from Basic up to Platinum), a product must satisfy the minimum requirements of the relevant level in all five categories. These categories are: material health, material reutilization, renewable energy and carbon management, water stewardship and social fairness and biodiversity.

Share on social media